How, when and where to apply for a visa?

The French Consulate in Cape Town has outsourced the reception of visas applications to CAPAGO.

Visa applications are processed by appointment only at CAPAGO. Do allow at least 15 days for visa processing but do not submit your application more than 3 months before your planned dates of travel.

Be aware that, due to the introduction of biometric visas, all applicants, except children under the age of 12, must apply in person.

Call Center: 087 231 0313 (Monday to Friday - 8.00 am to 5.00 pm)
Location : Ground Floor, Old Warehouse Building, Black River Park South, 2 Fir Street, Observatory, Cape Town, 7925 (see map).

CAPAGO’s role is to inform applicants, receive applications, collect biometric data and return applications to customers. The decision to grant or refuse a visa is made by the consulate only.

Warning: Some visa applicants have recently been scammed by agencies which propose to facilitate the obtaining of visas. Please be very careful and check the service provided by the agency before giving your documents and paying fees.

To apply for a visa from CAPAGO and the French consulate in Cape Town

  • You must hold a valid and recognized passport/ travel document: your passport/ travel document must have been issued within the last 10 years and have at least 3 months validity after the intended date of departure from the Schengen area.
  • You must be resident in South Africa: your South African (temporary or resident ) permit must have at least 3 months validity after the intended date of departure from the Schengen area. People who are not resident in South Africa must apply for their Schengen visas at the French consulate in their country of residence.
  • France is your only or main destination: spending more time in France than in any other Schengen countries within the same trip or France is the country of your first entry into the Schengen area if you intend to stay the same amount of time in all the countries visited within the same trip. If France is not your main destination, please contact the consulate of the competent Schengen States.
  • You may now apply at any of the three CAPAGO centres in Cape Town, Johannesburg and Durban, regardless of your place of residence in South Africa.
    Visas will then be processed and issued by one of the two French Consulates (Cape Town or Johannesburg).

publié le 10/11/2014

top of the page